Francescas - Le Saumont: 6 miles
This small town is a charming little village of 213 inhabitants located in the Lot-et-Garonne at a height of 129 meters. It is crossed by the creeks Auvignon and little Auvignon.
Sir Bertrand Somont, knight, has been the first Lordship in 1286 and so far this the beginning of Le Saumont.
Saumont and the stunning views were a favorite place of the knights of the Temple 1300-1500. Nothing remains of their presence if not a unique underground chapel, in the park of the castle, whose walls are, alas! today, a water tank.
According to A. Dubourg, Saumont is a dependency of the Commandery of Nomdieu;some houses in the street in the north are the remains may date from the 16th century, but the buildings comprising the village were rebuilt almost all in the second half of the 19th century.
During the Middle Ages until the Revolution, The Saumont, le Nomdieu, Bax and Beaulens were four municipalities of the Viscount and the bailiwick of Bruilhois. They were located between the two Auvignon, as are upstream of these rivers, villages and small towns Ligardes, Estrepouy, Gazaupouy,le Roumieu, Castelnau de Fimarcon, etc..
Le Village et son histoire
Two cities are on the cadastre of 1818: one in front of the castle was completely destroyed in the 19th century, the other a regular plan, linked to the parish church, is the present village, according to A. Dubourg, Saumont is a dependency of the Commandery of Nomdieu; some houses in the street in the north are the remains may date from the 16th century, but the buildings comprising the village were rebuilt almost all in the second half of the 19th century.
Today the castle is a retirement home
Dependence of the commandery Nomdieu, according to A. Dubourg, which could confirm the lintel of the cemetery gate decorated with a Maltese cross, rebuilt in the 16th century, the bell gable stone was probably built in the 17th century; Redesign openings and cornice in the second half of the 19th century, probably at the same time as the reconstruction of the village, recent interior refurbishment.
The romanesque bridge located on the Grand Auvignon (Commons Saumont and Moncaut) place called Moulin neuf (the new mill) was renovated in 2009
The mill of Coulaqué
The mill has undergone some changes, for the windows, facing the four cardinal points and has been transformed into a pigeon loft. The north gate is surmounted by the inscription "1881"
In Le Saumont there is a nice gite. Please find hereby some more informations:
Domaine de Montauzet is a beautiful, charming 5 bedroom 17th century stone house surrounded by fields with magnificent views of the valley. The Domaine is located in the Albret country, home of Henry IV part of the beautiful region of Gascony, land of the famous d’Artagnan and also the home of the hero of the play Cyrano de Bergerac. The website:http://www.domainedemontauzet.com/index.asp
Terms & Conditions |Links | Homepage
e-mail City Hall of Francescas 2010 -
all rights reserved
Conception et maintenance : e-kommunikation.com
All materials on this website © City Hall of Francesas .
Photographs courtesy of e-kommunikation.com ©