bastide francescas


St Emilion et ses vins prestigieux, France onjour!
There is a medieval city which is not only his fame at its unique beauty ... rich history contributes even more and his name is inscribed on the most prestigious bottles of wine from this land of France, which are shipped around the world.
" Saint-Emilion, village located on the north hillside of the valley of the Dordogne is thirty-five kilometers north-east of Bordeaux, about 1 hour of Francescas. Joined in 1999 as a World Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO, is undeniably one of the villages presenting the most famous history ... and Belle France is very proud!

St. Emilion
St. Emilions caves
 

Saint-Emilion has this charming and does not look like other french medieval villages. Having just suffered the scourges that have so often ravaged cities and countryside french over the centuries, the villagers were rid of the imperative necessity to ever come together around the feudal castle for refuge. Perched on a limestone cliff, is nature itself has determined the limits of the village, giving it the form of an amphitheater. It is this same nature that allowed humans to settle in the approximately seventy acres of underground hoses running through it. Above the galleries are crowded houses with a soft ocher color, huddled against each other, warm and separated by narrow winding streets and steep. Some are still covered by the tiles of granite used as ballast for ships returning empty to Cornwall after having defivered the delicate wines, if taken by the English Crown. Saint-Emilion has the charm and beauty of a land , where harmony between nature and man reign as master.

The Legend of St. Emilion

St.Emilion was born in Britain in the eighth century, in a modest family.
The count, who reigned over the province will choose him as the steward ... choices that proved detrimental to the steward that some jealous rivals accused him of thievery to discredit in the eyes of his teacher and confidant. One day while he was going to distribute bread to the poor, the suspicious Earl asked him to open his coat. Miraculously, the pieces of bread that he had hidden had turned into bundles of firewood. After this sad misadventure, the pious young man decided to go on pilgrimage. His path eventually lead him up a bit. Seduced by the serenity of the place, he decided to dig a cave and devote his life to God. After his death in 767, the hermit had performed so many miracles and done so much good about him was that he decided to give his name to the site where he had lived. Saint-Emilion was born.

read more

St. Emilion Village

Terms & Conditions |Links | Homepage |Site Map
e-mail City Hall of Francescas 2010 -
all rights reserved
Conception et maintenance
: e-kommunikation.com
All materials on this website © City Hall of Francesas .
Photographs courtesy of e-kommunikation.com ©

top

bastide francescas


St Emilion et ses vins prestigieux, France onjour!
Il existe une cite medievale qui ne doit pas uniquement sa renommée a sa beauté exceptionnelle...son histoire riche y contribue autant car son nom est inscrit sur les plus prestigieuses bouteilles de vin de cette terre de France, expediées vers le monde entier : « Saint-Emilion », village situe sur le coteau nord de la vallee de la Dordogne a trente-cinq kilometres au Nord-Est de Bordeaux, à environ 1 heure de Francescas. Inscrite en 1999 au Patrimoine Mondial de l’Humanite par l’Unesco, c’est indeniablement un des villages presentant le plus de monuments historiques... et la Belle France en est bien fière !

St. Emilion
St. Emilions caves
 

Saint-Emilion a ceci de charmant qu’il ne ressemble pas vraiment aux autres villages francais medievaux. Ayant peu souffert des fleaux qui ont si souvent ravage les villes et les campagnes francaises au fil des siecles, les villageois n’eprouverent jamais l’imperative necessite de se rassembler autour du chateau seigneurial pour y trouver refuge. Perche sur un rocher calcaire, c’est la nature elle-meme qui a determine les limites du village, lui donnant la forme d’un amphitheatre. C’est cette meme nature qui a permis aux hommes de s’y installer dans les quelque soixante-dix hectares de boyaux souterrains qui le traversent. Au-dessus de ces galeries s’entassent des maisons d’une couleur ocre si douce, blotties les unes contre les autres, chaleureuse et separees par d’etroites ruelles sinueuses et pentues. Certaines sont encore recouvertes de ces paves de granit, ayant servi de lest aux bateaux qui revenaient a vide des Cornouailles apres y avoir livre ce vin delicat, si prise par la Couronne d’Angleterre. Saint-emilion a le charme et la beaute d’un terroir ou l’harmonie entre la nature et l’homme regne en maitre.

La Légende de St. Emilion

St.Emilion est ne en Bretagne au VIIIeme siecle, au sein d’une famille modeste.
Le comte qui regnait sur la province le choisira comme intendant... choix qui s’avera nefaste pour l’intendant que certains jaloux n’hesiterent pas a accuser de vol, pour le discrediter aux yeux de son maitre et confident. Un jour, alors qu’il partait pour distribuer du pain aux pauvres, le comte soupconneux lui demanda d’ouvrir son manteau. Par miracle, les morceaux de pain qu’il y avait caches s’etaient transformes en fagots de bois mort. Apres cette triste mesaventure, le jeune homme pieux choisit de partir en pelerinage. Ses pas finirent par l’amener jusqu’a une foret. Seduit par la serenite des lieux, il decida d’y creuser une grotte et de consacrer sa vie a Dieu. Apres sa mort en 767, l’ermite avait accomplit tant de miracles et fait tant de bien autour de lui qu’il fut decide de donner son nom au site sur lequel il avait vecu, Saint-emilion etait ne.

Suivez ce lien et decouvrez plus de détails
sur St. Emilion

Vous aimez les vins de St. Emilion, voilà un site uncontournable



St. Emilion Village

Mentions legales | Liens | Accueil |Plan du Site
e-mail Mairie de Francescas 2010 -
Tous droits reserves
Conception et maintenance
: e-kommunikation.com

top